E3 2013: Xbox One to only work in certain countries at launch — Full details inside

On the official Xbox One “Pre-Order Product Information” page, this wonderful list of supported countries can be found:

Xbox One-Supported Xbox Live Countries

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Xbox One games are for activation and distribution only in specified geographic regions.

The above list may seem a little short to some of you, mainly due to the fact that it completely ignores the continent of Asia.

Don’t worry though, Asian gamers will get the Xbox One eventually, providing they live in Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea or India. The expected date of release for these countries is late 2014.

Microsoft have described this as a “staged approach” to marketing their new console. Their regional vice president for sales and marketing in Asia stated that they were still working on allowing Asian gamers a “great experience”, including localised content.

As for everyone else, well they are clearly not impressed. Would-be buyers of the Xbox One have taken to Twitter, proceeding to vent their frustration by taking on Xbox Support.

With importing now rendered impossible, fans in unsupported countries will simply have to make do with their Xbox 360 for the next year or so… Or maybe the PS4 would be a better option?

Oh Microsoft, we know you want control, but attempting to control everything in one go is just going to end in tears.

Source: The Wall Street Journal and NeoGAF